ASME A18.1-2008
Safety standard for platform lifts and stairway chairlifts
Website –
The ASME A18.1 Safety Standard for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts presents certain guides for the design, construction, installation, operation, inspection, testing, maintenance, and repair of inclined stairway chairlifts, and inclined and vertical platform lifts. It covers devices intended for transportation of a mobility-impaired person only — typically within household applications. The ultimate goal of this Standard is to help protect public safety, while reflecting best-practices of industry.

ICC/ANSI A 117.1
Accessible and Useable & Buildings and Facilities
The ICC/ANSI A117.1 Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities is a nationally recognized standard of technical requirements for making buildings accessible. Published since 1961, it is referenced by many federal documents and state accessibility laws. The IBC also references the ICC/ANSI A117.1.

The International Code Council is the secretary of the ICC/ANSI A117.1. The International Code Council, and its precursor organization, the Council of American Building Officials (CABO), have been responsible for the document since 1987. The ICC/ANSI A117.1 is developed through a public hearing and consensus process supervised by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The document is on a five year cycle for development. The most recent edition came out in 2003.

ADA Accessibility Guidelines
Website –
The ADA recognizes and protects the civil rights of people with disabilities and is modeled after earlier landmark laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race and gender. To ensure that buildings and facilities are accessible to and usable by people with disabilities, the ADA establishes accessibility requirements for State and local government facilities under title II and places of public accommodation and commercial facilities under title III. The law requires that the Board issue minimum guidelines to assist the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Department of Transportation (DOT) in establishing accessibility standards under these titles.

U.S. Department of Justice
2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design
Website –
The U.S. Department of Justice has assembled this official online version of the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design (2010 Standards) to bring together the information in one easy-to-access location. It provides the scoping and technical requirements for new construction and alterations resulting from the adoption of revised 2010 Standards in the final rules for Title II (28 CFR part 35) and Title III (28 CFR part 36).

California Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Occupational Safety and Health – Title 8 regulations
The Division of Occupational Safety and Health, better known as Cal/OSHA, protects workers and the public from safety hazards through its Occupational Safety and Health, elevator, amusement ride, aerial tramway, ski lift and pressure vessel inspection programs, and also provides consultative assistance to employers.

California Division of the State Architect
DSA’s California Access Compliance Reference Manual
The Division of the State Architect (DSA) has compiled California’s Statutes, Title 24 Regulations, DSA Policies, DSA Interpretations of Regulations and DSA Checklists related to accessibility for persons with disabilities. The general intent of this document is to help clarify the obligations and specifically for accessibility in projects under the plan review jurisdiction of DSA, including State of California public elementary and secondary schools (grades K-12), community colleges, and state funded buildings and facilities.